HEART Chakra - Anahata



Action: 'I Love'

Issue: LOVE

Goal: Sharing

Sense: Touch


The HEART Chakra is about an unselfish, acceptance and love for others unconditionally; it's about a universal, unconditional love.

The 4th chakra is the HEART chakra and the gateway to higher awareness as it's the seat of consciousness. The heart chakra is the center of your personality energy field and where you begin integrating your spiritual awareness & physical experience.

The HEART chakra is considered the best chakra for meditation

Planet & Astrology

The ruling planet is SATURN the planet of contraction governing the pumping action of the lungs and heart.

Healthy Energy

A healthy and open HEART chakra means you are in harmony with all that is around yourself and others. You are a very open, giving and loving person. You literally glow and radiate your inner peace and happiness because you understand that love involves giving selflessly, with no expectations of anything in return and that is is the greatest gift of all.

Blocked Energy

Blockages in the HEART chakra mean you may fear rejection, feeling unworthy of love or loving too much. You feel unworthy of love and skeptical of anyone who wants to love you or your love relationships may be completely co-dependent.

Physically you may experience heart problems, high or low blood pressure and allergies.


HEART Characteristics

Animal: Gazelle, antelope, birds &, dove

Balancing: Bodily techniques such as meditating and yoga

Body location: Middle of the breastbone, above the chest

Body Parts: Lung

Color: GREEN

Directly Effects: Astral Body

Element: Air - Because air is ever-present, our very life-force that is shared by everyone and yet it is invisible

Energy Flow: Opens back and front through the body

Essential Oils: jasmine, rose Basil, Eucalyptus, Fennel, Geranium, Peppermint

Foods: Green vegetables, dark leafy greens, liquids, spices

Function: Balance; Harmony, equanimity, compassion, trust, loving relationships.

Gems/Metal: Tourmaline, Malachite, Kunzite, Emerald, Jasper (all colors), Rose quartz, Aventurine,  Dioptaise, Turquoise, Green Jade , Peridot/ Copper

Glands/ORGANS: Thymus, Heart, ribs, chest cavity, lower lungs, blood, circulatory system, skin, hands

Herbs: Ash, birch, barley, bloodroot, broom, buckthorn, burdock, caraway, cinnamon, clover, curry, cumin, eucalyptus , fennel, fern, foxglove, frankincense, garlic, gorse, holly, horehound, hyssop, ivy, juniper, kava-kava, larkspur, mallow, mandrake, marjoram, mint, mistletoe, myrrh, mullein, nettle,  olive, pennyroyal, periwinkle, plantain, primrose, rosemary, sage, thistle, Vervain, wormwood

Incense: Rose

Lotus pedals: 12

Physical Connection: The heart, blood, vagus nerve and circulatory system. Love compassion drive. Respiration.

Psychological functions: Your openness to life, your truly loving feelings for others, your ego and your will towards

Sanskrit name: Anahata (pronounced as Ah naw ha ta) Anahata meaning unstuck note

Sound: The mantra YAM or A as in ah and Musical note F#

Scents: Chamomile, Heliotrope, Lily of the valley, Hazel, Bistort, Lavender, Almond, Lemongrass, Pine, Rose oil

Symbols: Select this link to see various examples