ROOT Chakra - Muladhara



Action: 'I Have'

Issue: Survival

Goal: Stability

Sense: Smell


Your Root Chakra responsibility is to its own physical needs of food, drink, shelter and other basic needs for survival.

The 1st Chakra is known as the BASE or ROOT chakra. It is located at the base of your spine where kundalini energy resides symbolized by a coiled snake. This chakra is said to govern memory, time and space.

Planet & Astrology

The ruling planet is MARS which governs male potency, basic survival instinct, forcefulness, war and aggression. In astrology it's associated to ARIES indicating survival and security.

Healthy Energy

A healthy and open ROOT chakra means you are a very trusting, grounded and independent person. You know who you are and where you are going and what it takes to get where you’d like to be in the future.

Blocked Energy

Blockages in the ROOT chakra means you are very worrisome, anxious and high strung therefore feeling of being not at all grounded. Physically you may experience irritable bowels, spastic colon, stiffness in the joints, sciatica, constipation and hemorrhoids.

ROOT Chakra Characteristics

Animals: Elephant ox, bull (Coiled snake representing Kundalini)

Balancing: Spend time each day sitting on the earth & dance

Body location: Base of the spine (dormant Kundalini energy resides here)

Body Parts: Legs, feet

Directly Effects: Physical Body

Element: Earth

Energy Flow: Only one openingwhich is pointing downwards towards the ground; the energy is therefore drawn up into the body with this chakra

Essential Oils: Clove, Frankincense, Clary Sage, Rosemary, Cedar wood, Rosewood

Foods: Proteins, Red fruits, Root vegetables, Protein rich foods, Spices

Function: Survival, life force, centering, grounding, sex, money, power

Gems (Stones): Bloodstone, Lodestones, Obsidian, Onyx, Garnet, Ruby, Red jasper, Smoky quartz, Black tourmaline, Hematite , Black onyx, Jasper, Obsidian

Glands/Organs: The adrenal glands, kidneys, spinal column, legs bones

Herbs: Ash, birch, barley, bloodroot, broom, buckthorn, burdock, caraway, cinnamon, clover, curry, cumin, eucalyptus , fennel, fern, foxglove, frankincense, garlic, gorse, holly, horehound, hyssop, ivy, juniper, kava-kava, larkspur, mallow, mandrake, marjoram, mint, mistletoe, myrrh, mullein, nettle, olive, pennyroyal, periwinkle, plantain, primrose, rosemary, sage, thistle, vervain, wormwood

Incense: Myrrh

Lotus pedals: 4 - symbolizing the material world and also our directions (north, south, east & west)

Metal: Lead, Pewter

Physical Connection: Spinal column and kidneys, material drive and elimination

Psychological functions: Your will to live & your amount of physical energy

Sanskrit name: Muladhara (pronounced as Moola Dar Uh)

Mula means root and adhara means support

Scents: Cedar, Patchouli, Cypress, Honeysuckle, Primrose, Cinnamon 

Sound: This mantra is LAM The sacred vowel is UH (as in cup) - focus your attention on the root chakra when saying this sound.

Symbol: Select this link to see various examples